Richard was on port tack and therefore had to give way to Ainslie. (Rule 10)
In usual matchracing style, Ainslie bore away, putting Richard in sight and allowing Richard enough time to respond and keep clear (Rule 16). However, Richard did not respond, which resulted in the collision. So Richard is penalised.
rule 10. Richard on port tack should give way to Ainslie who is on starboard.
Oh man….this is indeed a BIG BANG!!!
Richard was on port tack and therefore had to give way to Ainslie. (Rule 10)
In usual matchracing style, Ainslie bore away, putting Richard in sight and allowing Richard enough time to respond and keep clear (Rule 16). However, Richard did not respond, which resulted in the collision. So Richard is penalised.
ohh and Ainslie didnt sail below 90degrees to the wind in the process of bearing down.